On Being A Millitant

Since the age of 4 I have been a millitant black chick…. Wierd to think of a 4 year old…. but I come from people born in the Free Love age, Raised in the Black is Beautiful period, and set loose in the ME era better know as the 80's… I didn't play with white Barbie but had a Kenya doll (remember those!), I knew Cleopatra was black, and so was the Sphinx and I think it was Napoleon who had the African noses blown off…. Ok so I didn't know all that at 4 exactly but trust me it didn't take long… I don't think I really believed white people were really real until I moved to Minnesota

Bad side of this…

It took a long time to see people for people, and I still first look to the traits to catergorize people… Not that I don't like other types of people, it's just a bad habit to peg them first, and know them second… And I tend to be suspicious of the white establishment… I do feel people have more opportunities than ever but truthfully old white men still run this country from the top to the bottom and they are only interested in keeping the money pool filled to 9 feet or above… on their end… see there I go being suspicious….

Good side of this

I have a pretty broad knowledge of my history, and know my lineage is from kings and queens, and inventors, and novelists, and slaves, and mammys…. and we are still strong despite whatever we have happening in our communities…. we survived the trans-atlantic slave trade, and forced breeding, rape, sharecropping and reconstruction we can survive this… But not only do I love my history…. I like to learn about others something my parents awakened in me when I was young and hasn't left me….

About genesiawilliams

I must apologize if this isn't exciting... though this may seem odd my decision to enter the blogging world, was less for an audience and more for me as an exercise in discipline, which i clearly lack if you see the frequency of the posts, but still it is weird because I am airing my thoughts on the biggest communication tool since the pony express, but if you like what you read feel free to comment and/or share... if not thank you for taking the time out of your life to check me out.... I'm pretty laid back, and I'm open for comments....

Posted in Uncategorized

Tags:

Permalink Leave a comment

say what you need to say. :)

