Indie Films Are Not Made With Curry.

I know, I thought they were too. I remember seeing a few brief moments of Chutney Popcorn, and seeing the two Indian–from India, actresses and there was a moment I think someone had on a traditional Saree and I thought to myself ok so is this what they mean by an Indie film. I’m serious I am not trying to make a bad joke, I really thought that and then I got to listening about ‘Indie’ music and I thought these people they are talking about are not Indian (or Asian depending on who you ask) so what’s that all about?My mind is an quaint little labyrinth isn’t it…. and it dawned on me that ’indie’ stood for independant ha ha…

Anyways somewhere between discovering the glorious existence of Bollywood and the magic of the IFC channel I developed an affection for the slightly subversive nature of independent film makers.

Then I realized, I had been watching them all along… She’s Gotta Have It, Do The Right Thing, School Daze (my favorite movie) I think Fresh and Clockers were independent too.

Some of my other favorite movies are independent (The Virgin Suicides, even the overkilled Crash). When they said Sundance Festival they weren’t talking about Hippies in Hair dancing around Central Park.

It was actually named by Robert Redford for his character in Butch Cassidy and the Sundance Kid(I always thought of that when I heard the name so how convenient).

Welcome To the Dollhouse, Saved!Girlfight, Napoleon Dynamite came from the epitome of irony as it is in it apparent state. Jack Nicholson in Five Easy Pieces was priceless, as was a very funny and sad Sally Struthers.

In short I find independant films beautiful.  

About genesiawilliams

I must apologize if this isn't exciting... though this may seem odd my decision to enter the blogging world, was less for an audience and more for me as an exercise in discipline, which i clearly lack if you see the frequency of the posts, but still it is weird because I am airing my thoughts on the biggest communication tool since the pony express, but if you like what you read feel free to comment and/or share... if not thank you for taking the time out of your life to check me out.... I'm pretty laid back, and I'm open for comments....

4 responses to “Indie Films Are Not Made With Curry.

  1. Jerome

    …This is a good read. I also think that Steve McQueen’s Bullit & The Thomas Crown Affair were Independent films as well. I think McQueen had his own production company during the late 60’s – early 70’s.

  2. G. Woman your voice sings in your writing. I can hear the lilt in your tone and the slightly impish giggle that is a part of your speaking in your writing. Maybe everyone can do this and maybe I can only hear it because I already know you, but you can count me as one of your fans and I will continue to count myself lucky to be one of the people in the world who has the pleasure of knowing a superior intelligence such as yours.

    ROCK ON WITH YO BAD SELF!

  3. thank you much both of you!!! dad for the info and mr. malik for the compliment! wait till I finish reading Arabian Nights and start writing stories.

say what you need to say. :)

